New Year, New You

The number of times I have read, heard, smelled, and tasted the phrase “new year, new you” makes me want to punch someone. Although now that I’m reading that, I’m thinking my first ever sentence of my first ever blog post probably shouldn’t include that sort of violence. I wouldn’t want those who managed to find their way onto this site get the wrong impression… So I would just like to clarify that I am not a violent person. Unless snacks are involved. But snacks aside, I wouldn’t dream of lashing out at a citizen simply because of their unfortunate proximity to my right hook coinciding with my receiving yet another new year, new you selfie. I just wouldn’t. So now that that’s cleared up, we can get into why that phrase grinds my gears. I guess I’m just hesitant with the whole idea of becoming a “new me.” I’m sure I’ve heard the phrase in previous years, it’s not exactly an uncommon one around this time of year, but for some reason when I heard it this particular year, it just rubbed me the wrong way. And after mulling it over for a bit, I think I figured it out. I think one of Kurt Cobain’s quotes sums it up nicely: “Wanting to be someone else is a waste of the person you are.” This year, I don’t want to try and be more like someone else to create a “new me,” I just want to be the very best possible version of myself that I can. I’m not looking for new, I’m looking to be the most “me” I’ve ever been. Rather than focusing on the things I don’t like, and giving myself a “makeover” why not take the things that I love about myself and about who I am and what I can do, and focus on developing those into stronger aspects of my life. To me the word “new” insinuates starting from scratch or a complete covering of what was once present, and I don’t think it’s possible to start from scratch as people. We can break habits, or form new ones, we can start dancing like no one is watching, or we can pick up and move someplace completely new for a fresh start. But underneath that, we are who we are. Our capacity to make changes is always present, it just needs to be acted upon. So I may be overreacting to the phrase or interpreting it in a way it was never meant to be taken, but regardless, this is what I propose: stop trying to become a new you, and make 2015 about finding and creating the very best version of yourself, using the unique gifts you have been given. Don’t try become someone new, just be the youiest you that you can possibly you. Sorry the Dr. Seuss just seemed right in the moment… This is going to be a big year and frankly with everything going on I don’t have time to become a new me, and for the first time in a while I don’t think I want to be. Maybe 2014 did me some good after all, because at this point I’m ready to be who I am in the rawest of senses. So look out 2015, I’m comin for ya.

One thought on “New Year, New You

Leave a Reply

